When piggy inspiration attacks!

19 Nov

My latest bake is an inspiration from Mr T internet’s find…



I almost did not complete the cupcakes because I messed up my first batch of frosting and was discouraged, I didn’t think I can produce these cute cupcakes or any decent cupcakes… Thanks to Mr T’s encouragement, I pursued a second batch of frosting. He then helped me made the ears and halved the marshmallows for the nose. When I saw them coming together again and the 2nd batch of frosting was not too bad, I became encouraged and hopeful again…

So, is really important to surround yourself with the right people when you are prsuing your dream…

I’m not a fan of royal icing or rolled icing so I decided to create this piggies with lemon cupcake topped with strawberry frosting.

Chocolate Suze has a great lemon cupcake with lemon curd recipe. Is so easy to make and the cupcakes turn out moist. For this little piggies, I have left out the lemon curd.

I have opted for a strawberry cream cheese frosting.The frosting recipe I found was in US conversion, which was confusing for me. So I won’t recommend using that for bakers who are not used to stick, ounces and oz. I messed up the frosting. It was watery and unusable for cupcakes. I was going to dump the mixture but turn it into a strawberry bread instead! Speaking of making the best out of a bad situation… (Thanks to Mr T’s encouragement!)

I found another recipe that uses the same ingredients here or use your favourite Strawberry cream cheese frosting to create the face.

After all the baking is done, here comes the fun part – assembling the face. I used strawberry waffles for ears, marshmallows for nose and melted some chocolate drops to dot the eyes and nose.

Use the pink marshmallow for nose – is cuter :)  Melt chocolate to dot the eyes and nose.

That’s all and you’ll get yourself some yummy piggies. No piggies were harmed in the making!

4 Responses to “When piggy inspiration attacks!”

  1. Stef November 20, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Totally adorable! Love them!

    • zinnamon November 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      Thanks!!! :) I love your blog! Is so pretty :)

  2. kat November 21, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    i love pigs! these are too cute!!

    • zinnamon November 21, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

      Thanks so much!! I love pigs too!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

