Ice cream inspired by my tea obsession – Earl Grey Ice Cream

13 Nov

I went through a phase where I was collecting every kind of tea I came across. Earl grey, English Breakfast, Cha Wang, Tia Gian Ying, Strawberry and cream tea, cookies and cream tea, lemon and grass tea, milk tea and antioxidant pomegranate tea. I have also have a range of brands in my collection from the super market mid range to specialty tea brands.

Yes, I’m a little crazy with my tea.

Occasionally I enjoy a good pot of  green tea mix with roses, that is popular among the chinese girls! Often serve in clear glass teapot like the one below.

Rose tea in glass pot

… or the lemongrass tea for a refreshing and uplifting start of the day.

Anyway, I’m not here to give a tea review, instead i’m really excited about my latest creation…. EARL GREY TEA ICE CREAM!!!

I don’t know what hit me but I had an inspiration to create Earl grey something… At first it was Earl Grey cupcakes but I have ran out of ice cream for over a week now, I need some ice cream! I then settle for Earl Grey Ice cream and set on my research.

I google and read a few variations and decided to draw a recipe from a fellow blogger Gourmet Traveller (who shares the same name as the popular Australian magazine but is not related)

I have adapted the recipe and reduced the sugar. I also used 4 teaspoons of tea leaves instead of tea bags. However, I follow the steps closely.

Ingredients

5 earl grey tea bags
300ml (10.5 fl oz) milk
75g (6 tbsp) caster sugar
3 medium egg yolks
250g whipping cream

I think there is a step missing in there, the custard needs to be pour through a sieve to remove the grain to achieve the smooth consistency in the custard. I also used too much tea. The next time I’m making it, I will reduce the amount of tea leaves and remembers to sieve the custard.

Sometimes, I like to have a biscuit with my tea (like a granny). To finish it off,  I crushed some digestive biscuits and sprinkle some on top and use the bigger pieces as a base for the ice cream.

Earl Grey Ice Cream with Digestive Biscuit Crumble

All in all, it wasn’t a bad first attempt for me. I’m still enjoying the ice cream! 🙂

So there you go… I think I know what to do to make a better custard base ice cream.

Also, I found a video that demonstrates how to make ice cream using a similar custard base method which I will be applying across my future ice making attempts.

Leave a Reply

